Efforts strengthened to protect the Caspian Sea from oil spills

UNEP press release

Geneva / Aktau (Kazakhstan), 15 August 2011 - The five countries bordering the Caspian Sea have agreed on new commitments to strengthen regional responses to oil spills and to improve the way potential sources of pollution are monitored and managed across national borders.

The agreements were made as high-level government representatives of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Russian Federation, Republic of Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan met in Aktau, Kazakhstan, last week, for the Third Meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP 3) to the Tehran Convention.

See online : UNEP press release

Home page | Contact | Site Map | Private area

Site created with SPIP 1.9.2d + ALTERNATIVES + UNEP/GRID-Europe